“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I really like this quote.  I know, you’re probably saying, “Well, duh, you picked it.”  But seriously, I really like.  How easy it is to get caught up in a cycle of living out a day and getting into bed that night regretting something you did or didn’t do or perhaps you begin to plague your mind with the constant streams of “what if I had…”.

Be done with it.

You’ve lived that day, it’s over. I realize that may seem a bit dark, but that day is done and you can’t go back.  Once you realize that, it can help you to live your next day more fully and wholeheartedly. And then when you reach your bed the following night you won’t be thinking about the same things all over again.

If you can grasp onto this type of thinking, it will become more habitual and I can promise you that you will feel more grateful and more at peace with every moment you live out.

I think my favorite part of this quote is, ‘Tomorrow is a new day.  You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”  I know for myself, personally, when I reached a point to not look at yesterday – or yesteryear even – with regret I began to really look forward to tomorrow.  I wake up not feeling worried or anxious about what may come because I know that as long as do my best I’ll be fine.  And when I live this way I can look back at my nonsense and laugh, appreciating how far I’ve come.

Leave a Reply

